Lifetime Achievement Award

Objective of the Award

To recognize midwives who have demonstrated extraordinary contributions over their career to the profession of midwifery in Ontario. One award is available per year.

Nominees for this award should have:

  • Demonstrated achievements in field of midwifery in Ontario that distinguish them from others in the profession
  • Made a lasting contribution to the profession as a whole
  • Enhanced the profession by consistently demonstrating commitment to high quality standards that inspire others in the field
  • Demonstrated leadership in the promotion of birth as a normal life event


  • Nominee must be or have been a practicing midwife in Ontario
  • Nominator must be an AOM member in good standing
  • Current AOM Board members and AOM employees are ineligible

Nomination Process:

Current AOM members in good standing can submit nominations for this award. The completed nomination must be submitted by the deadline of January 10, 2017 in order to be considered.

Nominations received by the deadline will be reviewed by the Leadership Development Committee. The Committee will then recommend an award recipient to the Board of Directors, who will make the final selection. Awards will be presented at the AOM's Gala Awards event on May 5, 2017.

Instructions for submitting a nomination:

To be considered, each nomination submission must include:

  • Nominee information
  • Nominator information; seconder information
  • Explanation of how the individual meets the criteria for this award

Nominations can be completed online or sent to:

Diana MacNab
Manager, Membership Services
Association of Ontario Midwives
365 Bloor Street East, Suite 800
Toronto ON M4W 3L4
Fax: 416-425-6905

Nominations must be received by the AOM by 5:00 pm on January 10, 2017.